RSS

I AM…..

29 Oct

I AM..,the way, the truth, and the life; and no man comes to the father except through Me.”  – John 14:6

God has used this statement over and over again in the bible to sum up His very existence…I AM. Even put into just two words, God seems like one of the most complex personalities of all time. What does that mean exactly? Does it mean that God is in everything? Does it mean God is everywhere? Maybe it means God is in us, people, like so many religions believe, or maybe, just maybe it means God is a fact!

I AM… It is not a question, just a statement that no matter what I AM.  Perhaps God’s intention in describing Himself that way was to indicate that among all the absolute facts that can be argued back and forth in religion and philosophy one remains fixed and that is that He Is. I AM indicates that before there was anything I AM, that after it is all gone I AM, and when our strength is not enough I AM.

So how has God used His name in the Bible?

1. God Is Always The Same

In the Book of Exodus, God gives his name for the first time to Moses and he says, “I AM who I AM.” With this simple statement God was indicating to Moses that He was the same God who was with his forefathers. Moses was then told by God to go back to his people and if they asked to tell them one thing if they questioned who sent him….I AM. (Ex 3:14)

2. God Will Sustain Us

In John we see God once again begin to use his name for the purposes of teaching the people.  After having fed the people on the shores of Galilee, Christ went off by himself to pray and avoid his ‘adoring fans’. After a while, they find Him on the opposite shore and begin comparing Him to Moses because He gave them bread to sustain them, but Christ then connects Himself to God His father once again by saying, ‘”I AM the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger..”  Christ says that He will sustain us the way only food can but His provision will be forever. (John 6:35)

3. God Will Save Us

Finally, God uses His name to show that He is our only way to salvation. “I Am, the way, the truth, and the life, and no man comes to the father except through me.” The next few blogs will go through this in a deeper manner, but the point that Christ is making here is that There is no other way that we can get to salvation except through Him.

With two simple words God managed to say so much about His life and character. He will never leave us, He will never change, He will give us sustenance in the desert of our lives, and He will save us from coming judgement.  So what does God say with his name?  I AM all you need!

If you enjoyed this check out my other blogs at ministryinreality.wordpress.com 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in John 14:6

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I AM…..

  1. Yvette

    October 29, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    I think this is such an awesome way that God revealed Himself, we’ve heard the story since we were small but to start to understand what God really meant, I am, is so powerful. He is and always will be everything w could ever need. Awesome post!
    What did you mean when you said he would sustain as only food can? I guess it seems obvious but I’m not sure what you were implying.

     
    • Jed

      October 29, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      Lol I probably could have been clearer. What I meant was that just like food keeps us alive physically alive, so Christ as the bread of life keeps our spirit alive! Good to hear from you Yvette

       

Leave a Reply

 
